88.9 KETR http://m.ketr.org en NYPD Shuts Down Controversial Unit That Spied On Muslims http://m.ketr.org/post/nypd-shuts-down-controversial-unit-spied-muslims The New York Police Department said Tuesday it would disband a special unit charged with detecting possible terrorist threats by carrying out secret surveillance of Muslim groups.<p>The squad that conducted the surveillance, known as the Demographics Unit, was formed in 2003. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 23:19:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 52191 at http://m.ketr.org NYPD Shuts Down Controversial Unit That Spied On Muslims In India, Landmark Ruling Recognizes Transgender Citizens http://m.ketr.org/post/india-landmark-ruling-recognizes-transgender-citizens India now has a third gender.<p>The Supreme Court has recognized the country's transgender community as being in a third neutral category — neither male nor female.<p>In handing down the ruling, Justice K.S. Radhakrishnan said, "Transgenders are citizens of this country ... Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:30:00 +0000 editor 52190 at http://m.ketr.org In Portugal, A Sales Receipt May Be Your Ticket To Win Big http://m.ketr.org/post/portugal-sales-receipt-may-be-your-ticket-win-big On Lisbon's cobblestone lanes, the Portuguese economy is hobbling along as it always has — in cash.<p>In a tiny, 100-year-old bar, Nuno Goncalves pours out glasses of <em>ginja</em> — a Portuguese sweet cherry liqueur — for his customers, mostly old men in flat caps. A small shot-glass full costs 50 cents — cash only. There is a cash register, but it doesn't print receipts.<p>"It's a local business. They just count the money they have, and the bottles they sell," explains a customer named Felipe. "They will not give you a receipt — and you will not ask for a receipt. Because, come on! Tue, 15 Apr 2014 21:34:00 +0000 Lauren Frayer 52189 at http://m.ketr.org In Portugal, A Sales Receipt May Be Your Ticket To Win Big Sending Money On An Overseas Round Trip To Avoid Taxes http://m.ketr.org/post/sending-money-overseas-round-trip-avoid-taxes Some investors avoid paying taxes in a move called round-tripping — sending money offshore, then investing it in U.S. stocks or bonds. A study estimates it costs the U.S. billions in lost revenues.<p>Recently, MIT professor Michelle Hanlon and two colleagues set out to find out all they could about round-tripping.<p>"I think it's a big problem in the U.S. tax system that individuals can evade taxes and that they try to do so offshore," Hanlon says. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 21:29:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 52188 at http://m.ketr.org Sending Money On An Overseas Round Trip To Avoid Taxes Risks Of Popular Anxiety Drugs Often Overshadowed http://m.ketr.org/post/risks-popular-anxiety-drugs-often-overshadowed When actor Philip Seymour Hoffman died of an overdose in February, the New York City medical examiner ruled that his death was the result of "acute mixed drug intoxication." Heroin, cocaine and a widely prescribed class of drugs known as benzodiazepines, or benzos, were found in his system.<p>The drugs first burst onto the scene in the 1950s and '60s and quickly became known as "<a href="http://www.med.umich.edu/psych/faculty/metzl/07_Metzl.pdf">mother's little helper</a>," the mild tranquilizer that could soothe frazzled housewives' nerves. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 21:29:00 +0000 Susan Sharon 52187 at http://m.ketr.org Risks Of Popular Anxiety Drugs Often Overshadowed Perennial Co-Writer Returns With An Album Of His Own http://m.ketr.org/post/perennial-co-writer-returns-album-his-own Dan Wilson is your favorite songwriter's favorite co-writer, lending a pen to artists from Nas to Adele. But he also writes music for himself — and he joins the program to talk more about it. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:15:00 +0000 NPR Staff 52185 at http://m.ketr.org Months Of Training And A Moment Of Silence As Marathon Draws Near http://m.ketr.org/post/months-training-and-moment-silence-marathon-draws-near Even as Boston pays tribute to the victims of the marathon bombing, runners are preparing to run in the race next week. NPR is following the stories of eight of these participants, dubbed the "NPR 8." Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 52184 at http://m.ketr.org The Long Wait On Safety Rules For The 'Soda Can' Of Rail Cars http://m.ketr.org/post/long-wait-safety-rules-soda-can-rail-cars Freight trains roll through the Chicago suburb of Barrington, Ill., every day, many pulling older tank cars known as DOT-111s. They're known as the "soda can" of rail cars, says village President Karen Darch, because their shells are so thin.<p>Many of the DOT-111s are full of heavy Canadian tar sands crude oil. Some carry ethanol. And more and more of them are loaded with light Bakken crude oil from North Dakota.<p>"The worry is that if there's a derailment and the car is punctured, if any of the flammable materials in it ... Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:15:00 +0000 David Schaper 52183 at http://m.ketr.org The Long Wait On Safety Rules For The 'Soda Can' Of Rail Cars Boston Mourns A Tragic Anniversary With Voices Of Victims http://m.ketr.org/post/boston-mourns-tragic-anniversary-voices-victims One year has passed since bombs rocked the finish line of the Boston Marathon. The city honored victims of the tragedy Tuesday with a tribute, including speeches from three of the victims themselves. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Jeff Brady 52182 at http://m.ketr.org Ukraine's Army Launches Campaign Against Eastern Militants http://m.ketr.org/post/ukraines-army-launches-campaign-against-eastern-militants Ukraine's army began a "special operation" in the east of the country Tuesday, moving against pro-Russian militants who are occupying government offices across the region. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 52181 at http://m.ketr.org